1998 Hottest 100 Cassette Release Volume 6
Feature image

About The Cassette

The 1998 Hottest 100 compilation album was released on July 5th, 1999. It was the sixth compilation of a Hottest 100 countdown and contained 36 songs on two cassettes, featuring the same tracklisting as its CD counterpart.

Quite possibly due to licensing issues, the cassette does not contain the #1 song, 'Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)', by The Offspring.

The absence of the number one track may be semi-explained by the quote by Korn in the liner notes; We don't normally release tracks for compilations, but as Triple J listeners are at the heart of the band's fan base and voted for us, we thought it would be cool to give you the D.O.S.E Woollyback Remix instead.

The Spanish words on the cover, 'Los Mejores Cien', translate into 'The Best Hundred.'

Additionally, the tracklisting for the cassette spells Fatboy Slim's 'The Rockafeller Skank' as 'The Rockafella Skank'.

Track Listing

Cassette 1


Cassette 2


Side 1


Side 1

1 Celebrity Skin Hole 1 Intergalactic Beastie Boys
2 Addicted To Bass Josh Abrahams 2 Sich Öffnen Not From There
3 Never There Cake 3 Don't You Know Who I Am? Happyland
4 Cigarettes Will Kill You Ben Lee 4 Sweater Eskimo Joe
5 Got The Life (D.O.S.E Woollyback Remix) Korn 5 One Week Barenaked Ladies
6 Girls Like That (Don't Go For Guys Like Us) Custard 6 Buy Now Pay Later (Charlie No. 2) The Whitlams
7 The Day You Come Powderfinger 7 The Impression That I Get The Mighty Mighty Bosstones
8 Josie Blink-182 8 Pure Morning Placebo
9 Harpoon Jebediah 9 Father Of Mine Everclear
      10 Everybody Here Wants You Jeff Buckley

Side 2


Side 2

1 Heavy Heart You Am I 1 I Think I'm Paranoid Garbage
2 Doctor Worm They Might Be Giants 2 ! (Song Formerly Known As) Regurgitator
3 Sweetest Thing U2 3 No Surprises Radiohead
4 The Grouch Green Day 4 The Rockafeller Skank Fatboy Slim
5 Brick Ben Folds Five 5 Every Day Should Be A Holiday The Dandy Warhols
6 Second Solution The Living End 6 Drinking In L.A. Bran Van 3000
7 Sex And Candy Marcy Playground 7 Cry The Mavis's
8 Black Friday Grinspoon 8 Teardrop Massive Attack
9 I Don't Like It Pauline Pantsdown      

2011 Nova all rights reserved. Luiszuno.com